Poets in Nigeria (PIN) is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 edition of the Nigerian Students Poetry Prize (NSPP) which opened for submissions on 15th January, 2018. The shortlisted poems are as follows:

  • WORDS MY MOTHER TOLD ME |Oyekunle Ifeoluwa Peter (Federal University of Technology, Akure)
  • RED | Deborah Oluwakemi Selemon (University of Ibadan, Ibadan)
  • COLOURS | Hauwa Saleh Abubakar (Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria)
  • DEEP DREAMS | Iberiyenari Godstime Tamunofiri (Niger Delta University Wilberforce Island, Yenagoa)
  • HERE, NOWHERE | Kester Kanayo Onyemaechi (University of Benin, Ugbowo)
  • THIS AGONY MOTHER FEELS | Idowu Ebenezer Odeyemi (Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti)
  • THUNDER | Ubi Ubi Ofem (Cross River University of Technology, Calabar)
  • YET ANOTHER HEAD | Amagwula Nnenna Comfort (University of Lagos, Lagos)
  • MOTHER DEAREST | Okoye Micah Oguguo (Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu)
  • | Ikeobi Samuel Chukwubuokem (University of Agriculture, Abeokuta)
  • According to Ismail Bala, chair of the judging panel including Hulya Yilmaz, Soji Cole, Kukogoho Iruesiri Samson and Saka Aliyu: “Generously offered in the shortlisted entries are poems which, like their writers, are diverse in their style as they are in their preoccupations with different and differing topics and concerns, supporting the fact that some appreciable level of writing and interest in it is going on in the tertiary institutions, despite some evidence to the contrary.  A discriminating reader may, however, argue that there might be more dross than the preferred nugget, since most of the entries may not be accomplished and therefore are not, to the same degree, successful. All the same, the attempt at writing (be it a dog-and-pony doggerel) shows not just the interest in writing, but indeed a certain appreciative level of its awareness and appreciation of its worth. And it is my sincere hope that such awareness, interest and appreciation would continue to flourish and prosper even after graduation of the student-writers.”

    Instituted in 2016 to stimulate creativity and promote literary excellence amongst Nigerian undergraduates, the Prize has had two grand prize winners – Noah Oladele, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife (2016) and Bakre Fadil Adedamola, University of Ibadan (2017).

    The prize winners of this current edition will be announced at the NSPP Awards slated for 24th May, 2018 at Godfrey Okoye University, Enugu.

    Kolade Olanrewaju Freedom

    Moderator, NSPP 2018


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: